The American Revolution Index

James Wilson Revolutionary War Pension Applications 1825
Transcribed by Robert L. Bailey

Note: This is a W.P.A. transcription.


State of Tennessee, Roane County. On this 26th day of January 1825 James WILSON Personally appeared in open Court, being a court of record, for the County & state aforesaid with power to fine & emprison by the Statutes of this State, he being a resident in said County, aged about seventy six years; who being first duly sworn according to law; doth on his oath make the following declaration, in order to obtain the provisions made by the acts of Congress of the 18th day of March 1818 and the 1st of May 1820 that he, the said James WILSON enlisted for the term of twelve months on the 28th day of May 1781 in the State of North Carolina in the Company Commanded by Captain Benjamine COLEMAN, in the regiment commanded by Col. Hardy MURPHY, in the line of the State of North Carolina, on the Continental establishment that he continued to serve in the said corps until the term for which he enlisted expired, when in the said corps until the term for which he enlisted expired, when he was honorably discharged from the said service, at Bacons Bridge in the State of South Carolina, by the said Captain B. COLEMAN & Cola. Hardy MURPHY, on the 1st day May 1820 I do Solemnly swear that I was a resident citizen of the United States on the 18th day of March 1820, and that I have not since that time by gift sale or in any manner disposed of my property or any part thereof with intent hereby to diminish it as to bring myself within the provision of an act of Congress entitled "an act to provide for certain persons engaged in the land and naval service of the United States in the Revolutionary war passed the 18th day of March 1818 and that I have not nor has any person in trust for me any property or securities or debts due me nor have I any income or any property whatever. The declarent is by trade a Taller, but not having the means to establish himself, his trade does not assist him to contribute to the support of himself & wife his ability to work is moderate but as good as men generally of his age. His wife is about seventy years of age very frail very little able to contribute to the support of herself or husband. The declarant lives with his son in law George FULLER, Jr. That he is a tenant and in very moderate circumstances, his wife and family are all the persons that compose his family, they live entirely upon the charity of his children. Sworn to and subscribed by me this 26th day of January 1825.

James WILSON

Sworn to in open Court, January 26th 1825.

Jno. M. BREAZEALE, D.C.